Monday, November 24, 2008

Rugby Notes II

Wales yet again flattered to deceive on Saturday, plucky losers again. Losses to South Africa and New Zealand bracket a poor showing against Canada, and things don’t look too clever in Gatland’s world. They face Australia this coming Saturday.

In things you can’t make up, Shane Williams has been selected as IRB Player of the Year.

Now the dancing one hasn’t had a bad season, and was just about the best player in Wales not called Ryan Jones, but the best in the world? Give me a break. Obviously Richie McCaw, Dan Carter and the rest of the New Zealand team weren’t eligible this year.

The former internationals that decided the award probably felt it would look bad if New Zealand won every award.

Player of the Year: Shane Williams (Wales)
Team of the Year: New Zealand
Coach of the Year: Graham Henry (New Zealand)
Junior Player of the Year: Luke Braid (New Zealand)
Sevens Player of the Year: DJ Forbes (New Zealand)

The previous winners of the player of the year award have been:
2001 Keith Wood (Ireland, hooker)
2002 Fabien GalthiƩ (France, scrum-half)
2003 Jonny Wilkinson (England, fly-half)
2004 Schalk Burger (South Africa, flanker)
2005 Dan Carter (New Zealand, fly-half)
2006 Richie McCaw (New Zealand, flanker)
2007 Bryan Habana (South Africa, winger)

No comments: